Grimoire x Rebirth V4 – Chapter 1

Volume 4 Chapter 1

Pipe 666 Water Supply I [After A Long Time I Fight With All My Strength!]


 

{General POV}

In the center of the Empire, within the center of the Imperial capital Gransil, was the Imperial Academy of Magic Librarians. There were three shadows in the conference room on the top floor.

“What did you say?” (?)

One person sat at the end of the long table in the meeting room, as a child-like girl stood beside him. The person of indeterminate gender with a neutral appearance was looking at a young man. Sitting opposite him on the table was a tall young man, with blue hair slicked back, and a monocle over one eye. This was Desiree McRein.

This conference room, one of the most important sites in the Imperial Academy, had been reserved for just three people. And the girl who stood quietly from the side was exactly Yatano Fuso Arclight, the third seat of the Imperial Academy’s Magic Librarians. Surely the person beside her is not just some nobody without a title.

“No, do you want me to say it again?” (Desiree)

“… Desiree. Do you understand what you are saying right now?” (?)

“I do.” (Desiree)

“……Hmm.” The person muttered, both hands in front of their face.

They had long hair reaching their back, giving them a feminine appearance despite being male.

“Your mission this time resulted in a long journey, which must have been tiring. Now that I understand the situation, it would be good if you rested a little.” (?)

“…I will do that. I would appreciate it if you treated this conversation as if it never happened…Astarte.” (Desiree)

“Of course, don’t force yourself. But I will ask you again in the future, Fifth Seat.” (Astarte)

“Alright” (Desiree)

The person, known as Astarte, smiled lightly at Desiree and returned his Naginata. When Desiree nodded in response, he left the room without looking back.

A momentary silence filled the room.

“Oh dear, It’s been completely rejected.” (Astarte)

“It can’t be helped. Desiree has always had a negative view of Eisenhart.” (Yatano)

“You, what are you trying to say?” (Astarte)

“Well, that is…” (Yatano)

Astarte turned at Yatano’s words and slightly frowned. The letter “I” was engraved on their back, denoting them as the First Seat of the Imperial Academy’s Book Edge Division of Magic Librarians. Astarte Verdanava is the very top of the Imperial Academy, and currently the strongest member.

The reason why Desiree was here was terribly simple.

It was in regards to the man named “Eisenhart” which Astarte just mentioned. After the Second Seat’s death, Astarte had invited the next strongest surviving member, Desiree, to take his place as candidate for Second Seat, but had been rejected. However, this invitation had been the result of discussions between Astarte, Third Seat Yatano, and the Imperial Crown Prince Greceres, and would not be so easily rescheduled.

However.

‘That seat is not a place where I can sit.’ Desiree had refused the promotion, which other people would happily jump at, the moment it was offered as if there was no need to think it through.

“So the second seat will stay empty?” (Yatano)

“But to find anyone else who has reached a level similar to Desiree…and there is still the problems with personality to consider. The seating order of the Imperial Academy of Magic Librarians is not something that can only be determined by pure power.” (Desiree)

“But won’t that increase your work?” (Yatano)

“… For the time being, Desiree will have the negative point of refusing the Second Seat. If the work increases to a certain extent, I’ll have him assist in mediation. Sigh, being the leader is hard.” (Astarte)

“I never thought this would happen. However, so long as Desiree keeps doing his best then I’ll be able to do my job as usual.” (Yatano)

“Yatano Fuso Arclight. You generally don’t do your job.” (Astarte)

Yatano’s mood visibly sunk.

‘As expected,’ Astarte thought with a sigh in regards to his easy-to-understand subordinate.

He had pride in being a person with a strong will, but those who gathered in this group also had very strong wills as well as eccentric personalities.

As Yatano furrowed her eyebrows, Astarte didn’t hide his exasperation.

“For the time being, you will be in charge at the Imperial Academy headquarters. Right now the internal workings of the Empire is a bit strained[1]. It’s probably because of the Republic rebels…which is just as well.” (Astarte)

“You should do that instead Astarte. I’m no good at political intrigue and management.” (Yatano)

“Rather than not being good, isn’t it just that you find it unpleasant? Since I’ll be heading out, I want to leave headquarters with someone reliable.” (Astarte)

“Oh. I hadn’t heard about that. Without Astarte here, I’ll have to work in earnest. Where are you going?” Yatano asked with a slight smile from behind Astarte who stood up. 

Astarte looked back at her, feeling a little disappointment at her half-hearted answer, showing how much she disliked work. The reason Astarte is leaving is because he received a corresponding mission.

“If I could stay for work I would.[2] Didn’t you engage in battle with the Imperator the other day?” (Astarte)

“She escaped.” (Yatano)

“Exactly. You may be practically the strongest, but you can’t do everything yourself. That’s the Demon King’s No. 3 Imperator we’re talking about. You can think of them as stronger than the previous Imperator.” (Astarte)

“That ’s right.” (Yatano)

“Therefore, Yatano alone is not enough to subjugate the Demon King’s Army. However, only three people, I, Yatano, and Desiree, cannot rush at their army either. Knowing this, the answer is simple.” (Astarte)

“…So, Astarte is going to kill the Imperator?” (Yatano)

“No, I don’t think I could hunt such a skilled opponent who was even able to escape your Divine Phenomenon Phase Skill. In short, we need to cut down each of the commanders of the Demon King’s Army. Comparatively, the top 3 members are far more unusual and dangerous than even the rest of the above average demon population.” (Astarte)

“Oh, is that so?” (Yatano)

As Yatano nodded as if convinced, Astarte smiled and opened the conference room door.

It seemed to be a little darker than when they first entered the meeting room, and the red sunset crept into the room.

“So…the hunt will be on for ‘Chariot’ as my compatibility towards them is not bad. At least better than Yatano.” (Astarte)

“I don’t want to fight ‘Chariot’. But, rather, just a little …” (Yatano)

“Hmm?”

Although Astarte was done talking, he heard some words from her mouth. Yatano’s whisper reached the ears of Astarte, who tilted his head.

“If you really leave, won’t my work in-…” (Yatano)

“I don’t know.” (Astarte)

Before Yatano finished what she was saying, Astarte closed a door between them.

“…Seriously. I have a really troublesome subordinate, I wonder if she will work hard while I am gone.” (Astarte)

With a sigh Astarte walked down the hallway.

Just like this, Yatano will not move unless he pushes forcibly. But if she does move, then she is more capable than anyone else.

“Now, It’s time to be on the battlefield after a long time….Please entertain me to the best of your ability, demon realm.” (Astarte)

He would show them the power of the world’s strongest fighter group, as the ones who stand at the top. 

 

 

 

 {Shuten POV}

“There you are!!”

“Gah!” (Shuten)

Dear Father. Have you enjoyed your everyday life in heaven? It was mother who always drove you around with a drunken momentum, so you have probably piled up with all the angels in heaven like a big burger. 

As your son, I am proud to say that I am living properly even as a demon. I am an Oni who used to be a mid-boss. But I’m having more fun than anyone else. The words you always used to say are always engraved in my heart.

However, I’m sorry. I am now being thrown around by a girl who only comes up to my chest.

“Ahaha! Such a fun sparring session!” (Eureka)

“I’m not having fun!! Huh, why are you still attacking…!?!” (Shuten)

“Hah, that’s because Eureka is amazing!” (Eureka)

W-what–?” (Shuten)

A bright red moon and a black sun shone above. It is a mysterious place where everything is dim but not dark. I have come to a small island near the water supply pipe 666, at the edge of the underground demon realm. Everything around here seems to be her property, and it seems I was found by her by coincidence while she was on vacation here.

While I was recovering, I really appreciated her offer to allow me to stay here for a bit, but…

“Nooo!”

“Migya~!”

Why did this happen?

I remembered what had happened earlier as I crashed to the ground on my back.

 

“Hey, how about we spar a bit?” (Eureka)

“What?” (Shuten)

I froze in place immediately. After looking at the bandage around my left arm, I then look back at the girl who was spreading something on her toast.

“No. No, no, no.” (Shuten)

“Ehh, but you’re almost completely cured already.” (Eureka)

This was 4 days after I woke up, maybe 7 days after being kidnapped. I was now in the villa of the No. 2 of the Demon King’s Army. I’m sorry to be intruding on your home, but weren’t you the one who gave me permission to stay until I had completely healed? But in any case this was the situation I found myself in. 

I was confused on why she brought this up so suddenly, but as she said, ‘Because it’s been such a long time.’ Her train of thought is a mystery, but a further explanation would still be welcome. 

“It’s just, I don’t want Shuten to regress in strength, but what do you think?” She told me.

“Does Eureka want to keep me from regressing, or from recovering so I can’t leave, I wonder.”

“…that’s.”

I put my left hand on my forehead, but my right hand reached out to the scrambled eggs in front of me (what kind of egg it is I don’t know), and I stabbed it with a fork. Delicious.

I am thankful for the cozy atmosphere of two people talking over a medium-sized dining table, eating a homemade breakfast by Eureka. It was some kind of delicious cooked bacon (what kind of meat it is I don’t know) and a crisp salad (how did she get this in the demon world?). Delicious. The Demon King’s 2nd in command is quite the homemaker. 

“Why don’t you want to fight, is it because I am too strong?” (Eureka)

“Okay, Just suppose; Let’s assume I’m reasonably strong. But even at my best do you really think I’m equal to you in strength to be able to fight back?” (Shuten)[3]

“But, I think you’re strong enough to spar against. Even though your magic pool is rather low.” (Eureka) [4]

Eureka looked up at me with giant blue eyes like a puppy dog. It reminds me of when she said something like ‘No makeup, the beautiful girl, Eureka!’ which was certainly cute.

She had puffed out cheeks too.

“Of course, we’ll use bare hands. If we use weapons, the ground will more quickly disintegrate.”

“No, see- there are more reasons, -couldn’t it also result in serious harm to each other?” (Shuten)

“You won’t die. I’m strong and you look sturdy..” (Eureka)

“That’s not-” (Shuten)

This fallen angel is so persistent! Does she really think I’m strong enough to fight with her without any problems!? She already revealed three pairs of black wings, but I don’t want to say that to her face. Thinking that’s not quite right, I stabbed another slice of ​​bacon.

“Anyway” Eureka whispered while drinking her own tea.

“Hm?”

As I sighed, I listened to Miss Bobbed Naturally-Pink-Hair.

“I was finally able to meet a strong demon at this time. I also thought it was interesting to meet you underground while you were laying on the ground exhausted.” (Eureka)

“Well, I have a lot of circumstances.” (Shuten)

“Is that so~o? Whatever, it’s fine, but I was happy to meet you.” (Eureka)

“What do you mean?” (Shuten)

“Because the demon world doesn’t actually have that many truly strong people, and it’s boring. And, Shuten seems to grow more and more.” (Eureka)

“…Is that so?” (Shuten)

“So let’s spar together” (Eureka)

“I don’t know about that.” (Shuten)

“Why…” (Eureka)

Eureka’s slippered feet swung back and forth in her chair. Although neither of our feet touched the ground, it wasn’t particularly a problem since you float in the air any time you weren’t sitting down. It’s somewhat convenient….This house doesn’t have any stairs or ladders because you always hover while inside. It was quite the culture shock.

“This cute girl is even going to make rice for dinner, and you won’t even answer my single request, how is that fair?” (Eureka)

“Uh” (Shuten)

She began to sniffle.

“Don’t cry at me, don’t cry. I understand. I understand.” (Shuten)

“Hooray! Then let’s head out later! Absolutely!”

When I was told that with a big smile, I didn’t seem like I’d be able to choose any other option, or even be careless in my acceptance. If she hits me with even a single hand, my neck will fly. No, before that, I’m already flying.

 

 

“Hyaa!”

“Oof” I fluttered to the ground like a large piece of paper.

Ah, seriously. Since this was hand-to-hand combat, shouldn’t the difference in physique matter? What is with “Chariot’s” excessive strength?

“Oh! It’s been a long time since I’ve been in a fist fight!” (Eureka)

Eureka very happily began to shadow-box in front of me, her fists flying. She was sparkling with sweat. See, don’t wear something so hot like a sweatshirt. Don’t you have anything like a sundress? Or maybe not?

“Still still, Shuten! Your speed ​​isn’t comparable to other guys, but you know how to always use the entire body! Until you came I haven’t seen anyone who was pure power?” (Eureka)

“How do you comprehend something like so well?” (Shuten)

“If you were to become Chariot, you would also have the leeway to easily see such a thing!” (Eureka)

Eureka crouched down next to me as I was lying down.  

“But Shuten is getting stronger and stronger. You are as good as one of my direct underlings, heeh~” (Eureka)

She poked my cheek with one of her fingers.

“Alright, Give me a hand and help me stand up!” (Shuten)

“Eh, okay…well, it’s not something you need to try too hard to improve in. I like to fight because it’s fun!” (Eureka)

“…Isn’t it okay now?” (Shuten)

“No, I ’m not tired yet!” (Eureka)

“That’s what you always say before and after.” (Shuten)

Phew. I stood up with a breath.

In fact, despite what Eureka says, I came here without fully understanding how to use my body to its fullest, so I was blown away no matter how much of a difference there was in physique. Although she should have gone flying as the smaller person, rather she remained strongly grounded the entire time…But as I said before, I have become able to understand her movements after fighting her several times.

Even if my level hasn’t increased numerically, I feel like my technical understanding of battle has increased. I’m sure I have also acquired some skill points. If so, I’d be happy if I can learn a new technique soon.

I wiped the dirt off my back and turned towards Eureka.

“I’m sorry but I can’t be a subordinate. As a wanderer, I have to go on a journey again. It’s just my nature.

“Mu…” (Eureka)

“Hm?” (Shuten)

Eureka took out a small piece of paper from her pocket in a slightly tense atmosphere. When she walked towards me, she said, “The Makai isn’t completely united, so the fighting is fierce. That’s why I don’t want Shuten to leave. Wasn’t that something you were planning on doing?” (Eureka)

“That’s right, I am going on a journey. It wasn’t even my request to stay for a while.” (Shuten)

“Right, so here.” (Eureka)

“What’s this?” (Shuten)

She pressed the little paper against my chest.

When I received it and opened it–

“Come. Then you will no longer want to leave.” (Eureka)

 —Eureka LIVE PARTY 1215

 ……A ticket to a Live concert?


Translator Notes

Here’s November’s chapter, I hope you all enjoyed it! Let me know if there are any (or many) problems with comprehension so I can fix any I missed.

  1. The word Astarte uses here is “きな臭い” which seems to mean the smell of sulfur or something similar that indicated war may break out soon.
  2. (が居ても仕事はして欲しいものだけど)
  3. 「よし、仮にだ。仮に俺がそこそこ強いと仮定しよう。そこでどうして強いイコール戦うという図式ができあがるんだ」
  4. 「だって、強い奴とは戦いたいじゃない。妖鬼ならこすい魔法とかもつかわなそうだし」

Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

3 thoughts on “Grimoire x Rebirth V4 – Chapter 1

  1. Thanks for the new chapter!

    Though I do not comment often I appreciate the work/effort put into continuing this series translation and it always makes me smile/happy when I see a new chapter.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment