Grimoire x Rebirth – Chapter 5

Chapter 5

Negri Mountain Abandoned Mine I [Master Kinagaishi]


{Main Character POV}

A Tree Spirit? Nope, it’s just me.

With my whole body draped in animal skins, black hair, two twisting horns, and sharp golden eyes lacking motivation, I do not look the least bit trustworthy. Held in my hand is the monstrous weapon Demon Slayer.

I am a demon.

Speaking of which, the setting of this world distinguishes between multiple categories of monsters and demonic beings without intelligence. Categorizing those, there are monsters with intelligence and/or form closer to human beings, which are called demons.  The demonic races who are able to speak the language are those who can interact with humans.

However, even knowing it is the effect of the pearl pieces, it is refreshing to kill a monster in one blow. Although I am unaware of how much stronger I’ve become, would it not be fine to see what I can do? Was that what the goddess was saying? The problem is if I’m gonna be stronger, then don’t I need to absorb the fragments, which hurts a lot? It really hurts?

“Has that goddess hidden something from me until the very end? If she waits until the last moment to reveal she is actually a perverted man, then that would be unforgivable.” (MC)

Surely I’ll lose when I believe the words from such a person. Among other things, if the 15 pieces turns out to be a lie… I almost wish it were a lie. If it turns out to be true and I have to fight a small army of enhanced monsters, I might die even if I fight seriously.

Unfortunately, that means there is the need to incorporate these mysterious Pearl Pieces.  I would be fine if I could choose to absorb it myself, but it’s scary because last time it leaped into my chest with no questions asked. I mean, I wouldn’t care if a young woman leaped into my chest, but…

Frivolous thoughts aside, I wouldn’t have to worry about being a weak mid-boss and I could relax.

“…these Pearl pieces, I think I’d better quickly get a hold of them!” (MC)

The next day was sunny.

Lovely sunlight reflected off the drooping leaves of the surrounding trees. As such, the intimidation and spookiness of the forest was reduced to less than a quarter. That was why there was no issue in heading to the northern dungeon while passing through the forest where the tower was.

…Even so. For the tower to consciously face a dungeon is kind of strange. Well, whatever.

“Either way, I should pay attention.” (MC)

Speaking of the northern dungeon, it is a former site of an old mine. As for why it is hidden, unless a certain condition is met it is impossible to enter this dungeon. This place was originally a mine, but unknown even to the local people it became an underground dungeon. Generally, there is no need to visit this dungeon, but occasionally a unique and legendary monster will spawn, causing cash items to be placed in lowest layers for visitors. Located on the lowest layer there is the special item “Treasure of Tokugawa.” According to the rumors about this item, unless the monster shows up, you cannot obtain it.

After passing through the forest toward the northern dungeon, it became necessary to climb a small mountain, as there doesn’t seem to be a decent road. I wish I could use teleportation magic, but sadly my aptitude for magic as a demon is close to none.

As such, I have been running towards the dungeon at full power. I have become the wind!! With my arms spread wide to feel the wind, I proceed while leaping among the trees.

“…this is the place?” (MC)

There was a man-made opening cut into a corner of the mountain. A railroad track indicating a line for a trolley stretched into the ruins, indicating it had once been used extensively. Standing in front of the coal mine, I looked inside and saw only darkness. Generally I’d use a torch but, “…this body’s keen night vision should somehow be effective.”

At the time I didn’t know. There is no relationship between the darkness of the cave and night vision.

Kura-!! It’s pitch dark!! Idiot! I’m an idiot!!” (MC)

Later, I was standing again in front of the mines. With a torch.

“There’re multiple paths!? How is my makeshift torch supposed to see around the corners of the tunnel from where I am?!” (MC)

The fact that I was slightly broken by this is a secret. So let’s start exploring. This dungeon has thirteen floors to the bottom. Because the Master of Kinagaishi is around the ninth floor or so, I will be descending.

“Hmm this cave certainly has an interesting atmosphere.” (MC)

Occasionally, thick log posts used to artificially support the mine come into sight. Otherwise the atmosphere of simple, excavated earth remains intact. There is no uniformity in height or width of the descending steps either. That’s why to a certain degree, there is the thrilling feeling of going on an adventure.

“I want to believe it’s me going down the stairs with the *Tsutshi Tsutchi*[1] sound effects and not just some other guy.” (MC)

Even without including the Grimoire Lancer series I was a gamer who played RPG games extensively. As such, I couldn’t help but get dizzy from the adventurous atmosphere. For me, there’s also the thrill in finding B ranked treasure chests.

Now, where is the Master Kinagaishi?

As I went down the stairs, I counted carefully.

This is because once I have been down seven flights of stairs I should search with more effort. This dungeon is large, though considering the height of my physical prowess, rummaging through a single floor has been no effort at all. If only it was one like that in the game.

“That reminds me, I still have not seen the unique monster” (MC)

Unique monster. These famous and rare monsters and demons will occasionally appear in dungeons. Even though the probability is quite low, there is also a legendary class monster that could appear, but even if I don’t want to believe it, an encounter = GAME OVER because of its devilish strength. Although in the game the intentionally hidden dungeon feels more playful, in reality I hope for a pardon from that encounter. Or, if that’s too much to ask, it would be better if it’s just some kind of strange beast.

On the other hand, I am supposed to meet unique monsters more frequently once I am put in a dungeon.

Progressing with my left hand on the walls of soil, in front of my eyes appeared a treasure chest. There are no trapped treasure chests in Grimoire Lancer II. I had the sudden anxiety that this other world might have them, but my curiosity won over. Opening it with a *Pakari* there are navy blue clothes sitting there.

Success.  Laying out the clothes, they are definitely Kinagaishi. The squid knot waistband calls out victory to me.

“Alright! I can finally say good bye to this fur pelt!” (MC)

Stripping off the fur, I put my arms through the sleeves carefully. Cool. Well, for a demon dressed in a kimono, it’s rather tasteful.

Oh!

It sounded like something fell. In terms of timing, it’s probably from the Kinagaishi. Taking another peek inside the treasure chest, there was something else.

There was a stone with extremely dull and dark colors. And what’s with this mysterious pearl piece? From the color it doesn’t seem to be cursed. But, I feel like my instinct is complaining about it anyhow. Previously when I picked one up it activated no questions asked.

“…I mean, why is it completely this color?” (MC)

Even when the torch is brought closer, the color does not change. What even on Earth.

“Anyway, for the time being my purpose is finished? This Pearl Piece doesn’t seem to be activating?” (MC)

I don’t really get it, so I’ll just leave.

I turn back around, out of this position. It was not that I didn’t have any interest in the Treasure of Tokugawa, but being a demon it doesn’t make much sense for me to be carrying around money. Also, it would be better to use a longer lasting torch made by an actual craftsman.

Since that’s the case, it should be enough to just appropriately deal with any monster that pops up. With such a thought, I went back the original way I came.

“Help! Help me!!!” (Girl)

“You monster, you can’t escape me!” (Man)

“Oh?” (MC)

Somehow, a little girl with black hair was fleeing desperately from two men.

…wait, that little girl is flying? Those are black wings growing out of her back, right? That form, I think I’ve seen it somewhere, but what was it?

There is the possibility that little girl is a unique monster. Different from a monster in in that she is the kind that is an intelligent demon species, but…by the time I thought this through the girl had been captured.

“I can’t wait! This Kozuka[2] can be sold at a high price!”

“Before that I want to give it a go, Gufufufufu!”

To use the word Kozuka…Aah, she is most likely a vampire, perhaps even a ‘Vampire Lady.’

Oh, tears fell from the beautiful ruby-like eyes of the little girl…

My conscience ached a bit at the consideration of letting her be caught by such a brute.

Un~

I guess it is good to help a little girl, as demons should help each other.

Vampire Hunter Kernel has appeared!

Vampire Hunter Bruce has appeared! ▼


Translator Notes

  1. Tsutshi, a sound effect that seems to be combination of a sliding noise (tsutsu) and a swishing noise (shi) like from a gentle touch. Imagine the sound a bare foot tapping on a stone stair would sound like.
  2. (好事家) according to research, a kozuka is a decorative handle fitted for a utility knife, but it could also translate to ‘Dilettante’ which means amateur. Kind of an odd phrasing, but it gives the impression of an innuendo, as most Vampires are known to be physically attractive.

Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

12 thoughts on “Grimoire x Rebirth – Chapter 5

  1. It seems to instead of a woman jumping on his chest is more likely he had a little girl in tears…
    Thanks for the chapter

    Like

Leave a comment